The Unsuspecting Mage: The Morcyth Saga Book One by Brian S. Pratt

The Unsuspecting Mage: The Morcyth Saga Book One

By Brian S. Pratt

  • Release Date: 2009-03-30
  • Genre: Fantasy
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 124 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

“Want to be a mage? Then do we have the job for you…”

Sounds great for a veteran role-player. When on-the-job training entails battling demons, learning magic through trial and error, and living in a world without toilet paper, things could get rough. But to be dropped in the middle of a forest and having to do it on your own with no instruction…welcome to James’ world.

It all gets started when his grandfather suggests to James, a young man on the verge of graduating high school, that he check out the following advertisement for a job.
“Magic! Real Magic! Ever wanted to learn? We require someone with intelligence and a disciplined mind. Those well versed in fantasy novels and role playing games a plus. May need to travel.”

Sounded like the perfect job for a veteran role-player and avid fantasy reader. James had no idea he’d be whisked to another world, completely cut off from friends and family. Arriving in a meadow in the middle of a forest, he’s greeted by a creature not entirely human. He was then told three things:

Magic works here…
Don’t try to go home…
Get to the village of Trendle…

Then the creature vanished.

Which way was Trendle? Where was he? What might inhabit the forest that will seek his ruination? These were but a few of the questions needing to be unraveled.

Alone with only his wits and knowledge gleaned from hundreds of books and dungeon campaigns, he started out just trying to survive. He soon learned that one mistake, one lapse in judgment could mean his death.

Not long after arriving, he made the acquaintance of Miko, a street-wise kid who quickly became his friend and companion. Little did he know that the strength within this child from the streets of Bearn, a strength that would be tested again and again as they waded through battle after battle, delved in hidden passages deep beneath the earth, and faced off against an the might of an Empire, would be invaluable in the trials ahead.

The Unsuspecting Mage is the first book of The Morcyth Saga, a seven book epic fantasy adventure. It follows James as he seeks first to master the art of magic then to uncover the reason why he had been brought to this strange new world where armies are on the move and gods meddle in the affairs of men.

Reviews

  • Poor

    2
    By Jnnyj1971
    This series desperately needs a good editor! The use of the present tense is unnecessary, particularly as the author mixes present and past tense inconsistently and incorrectly. The number of spelling and grammar mistakes makes this hard work to read, as you have to read each sentence several times to work out what is actually being said. That being said, the story is interesting, if slightly contrived.
  • Superb

    5
    By Fambo2014
    Got this book on the off chance really glad I did definitely going to buy the others superb
  • Mr

    5
    By MarkLeeEllis
    As soon as I read this book, there was no way I was stopping there, gripped wasn't a strong enough word, I have read this saga twice and am currently waiting on the third instalment of the sequel saga 'Travail of the Dark Mage', I am guaranteed to read them again. Well done Brian, my favourite series of books out there, a definate must must must read.
  • Absolutely Astounding!

    5
    By SophieJosie
    I found this book in my iBooks library and must have left it there for God knows how many months. SO GLAD I READ IT. Fans of RPG, Lord of The Rings and any such adventurous fantasy book would love this book! The whole 'middle-earth' era, combined with magic, a quest which leads one young man on a journey with surprises along the way and friendships and losses throughout... this book is a roller coaster of adventure and has you hooked within the first few chapters. Strongly, strongly, STRONGLY recommend! I even bought every other series of books by Brian. S Pratt! One of the best series I've ever read, coming at top with Eragon & it's sequels and LOTR. This author should be better known, truly a remarkable man.
  • FANTASTIC! (soz for spelling if wrong)

    5
    By Truffles121
    it was fantastic. I loved every moment of it. Couldn't put it down and i highly recomend it!!
  • Graphics Designer

    5
    By Gareth Philp
    I am a 16 year old boy, I downloaded this book as it was free. Instantly I had to buy all of the books following this one. It has set my imagination on fire. So I thank you brian! I recommend to people to BUY these books!
  • Amazing!!

    5
    By NoodleG13
    Not being a fantasy fan I normally wouldn't go for a book like this. As it was free I thought I'd give it a go. I was so gripped by the end of this book I went on to buy all six remaining books. These books are suitable for all ages, both boys and girls. An excellent writer with a wonderful imagination. I can not rave about these books enough. Definitely give them a go.
  • Fantastic

    5
    By Rosiep67
    I got the first book because it was free and went on to read the whole series, definitely a few issues with grammar etc but to say this is self published it makes a great read. As soon as I finished one I had to begin the next. Now onto the second series and I can't wait to read it.
  • Poor

    1
    By Plastic soapbar
    Okay story line, slightly repetitive though. The use of present tense is unneeded and make it tedious to read.
  • wow just wow

    5
    By aaron18yearold
    free hmmm worth a try i thought. now downloading second book :D

keyboard_arrow_up